We use cookies to make sure our website better meets your expectations.
You can adjust your web browser's settings to stop accepting cookies. For further information, read our cookie policy.
IN Warsaw
Exchange Rates
Warsaw Stock Exchange - Indices
The Warsaw Voice » Business » January 30, 2008
You have to be logged in to use the ReadSpeaker utility and listen to a text. It's free-of-charge. Just log in to the site or register if you are not registered user yet.
Awards for Business Leaders
January 30, 2008   
Article's tools:

Prime Minister Donald Tusk and deputy Prime Minister and Economy Minister Waldemar Pawlak were awarded the 2007 Super Wector award by the Confederation of Polish Employers Jan. 12.

The two men were chosen as winners because of their "far-reaching vision of an open society based on economic development, rebuilding civic energy, trust and on dialogue," the confederation said. Pawlak received the award on behalf of Tusk at a ball held at the Hilton Hotel in Warsaw.

Previous winners of the Super Wektor award include former president and Solidarity leader Lech Wałęsa in 2006.

The Wektor business awards have been handed out since 2002 for outstanding achievement in various sectors of the economy and the community, particularly for exceptional entrepreneurship that benefits the economy and has a positive impact on society.

The Confederation of Polish Employers awarded Wektors for 2007 to five individuals and one institution:
  • Antonio Garrigues, President of Garrigues Legal Chambers-for the highest standards in providing complex legal advice, which has led to a significant increase in Spanish investors in Poland, and for helping to cement ties between Spain and Poland. The Spanish legal chambers were opened a year ago in Poland with a staff of 20 legal advisors. The award was accepted by the Spanish ambassador to Poland, Rafael Mendivil Peydró, on behalf of Garrigues.
  • Ludwik Sobolewski, president of the Warsaw Stock Exchange-for establishing the New Connect alternative market for small and medium sized enterprises and for strengthening the position of the Polish stock exchange on Central European financial markets.
  • Dimitris Dimitradis, president of the Budget Group of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)-for contributing to the development of European entrepreneurs and establishing the EESC as a respected partner of the European Union.
  • Henryk Leszczyński, president of the PKS Szczecin Sp. z o.o. bus company-for developing a strategy to privatize public transport that ensures quality passenger service and safety.
  • Roman Młodkowski, head of the TVN CNBC Biznes television channel-for "journalistic diligence, expertise and promotion of free market economy principles and economic common sense."
  • Telekomunikacja Polska S.A.-for developing a formula combining business with activities for the public good and for the company's cooperation with local government, thanks to which the internet is reaching a wider population. The award was accepted by TP S.A. president Maciej Witucki.

Jolanta Wolska
© The Warsaw Voice 2010-2018
E-mail Marketing Powered by SARE