We use cookies to make sure our website better meets your expectations.
You can adjust your web browser's settings to stop accepting cookies. For further information, read our cookie policy.
IN Warsaw
Exchange Rates
Warsaw Stock Exchange - Indices
The Warsaw Voice » Culture » April 29, 2009
Coming soon
You have to be logged in to use the ReadSpeaker utility and listen to a text. It's free-of-charge. Just log in to the site or register if you are not registered user yet.
Shostakovich And More By Schiff
April 29, 2009 By P.M.    
Article's tools:

The National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra will perform works by Shostakovich, Haydn, Lutosławski and Dvorak May 8. The main soloist will be Austrian cellist Heinrich Schiff.

The concert will comprise Haydn’s Symphony No. 83 in G Minor (Hoboken I/83), popularly known as The Hen, Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in E Flat Major, op. 107, Lutosławski’s Musique funebre, and Dvorak’s symphonic poem The Golden Spinning Wheel.

Shostakovich’s works performed by Schiff are considered exemplary, which is attested to by the prestigious Grand Prix du Disque he received for his recordings. Schiff is also a conductor working with such esteemed orchestras as the Wiener Kammerorchester as well as regularly appearing as a guest conductor with leading chamber and symphony orchestras around the world.

During the Warsaw concert, he will conduct works from several different eras: one of Haydn’s “Parisian” symphonies, The Hen, Dvorak’s symphonic poem The Golden Spinning Wheel, one of a charming cycle of works based on Czech poet Karl Eben’s work and inspired by folk music, and Witold Lutosławski’s masterpiece Musique funebre for string section, dedicated to the memory of Bela Bartok.

May 8, 7:30 p.m., National Philharmonic, 10 Sienkiewicza St., tickets: zl.25, 30, 35, 40, 45,
© The Warsaw Voice 2010-2018
E-mail Marketing Powered by SARE