We use cookies to make sure our website better meets your expectations.
You can adjust your web browser's settings to stop accepting cookies. For further information, read our cookie policy.
IN Warsaw
Exchange Rates
Warsaw Stock Exchange - Indices
The Warsaw Voice » Other » December 17, 2003
You have to be logged in to use the ReadSpeaker utility and listen to a text. It's free-of-charge. Just log in to the site or register if you are not registered user yet.
Chair of the Year Goes to Jerzy Hausner
December 17, 2003   
Article's tools:

Anyone who says we are living in easy times-is lying. Anyone who claims we are facing problems that are impossible to solve-is lying too. Jerzy Hausner belongs to the group of those politicians who speak the truth. Perhaps because he is a man of science, perhaps because such are his principles. Or perhaps because he is a brave man.

The Warsaw Voice has decided to award its Chair of the Year in 2003 to Jerzy Hausner. He is brave, sensitive and a man of integrity. A politician who understands that what must be done, has to be done. But also one who is perfectly aware that in a democratic state, you can only do what wins public approval.

We grant the Chair of the Year annually to the person (or thing) that has had the greatest influence on the lives of Poles in a given year. We are granting this year's Chair to Prof. Hausner, deputy prime minister and minister of the economy, labor and social policy, for making a reality of his conviction that Poland can follow a path of intensive development that serves the people and the country. Hausner's program combines economic policy, reform of public finances and social sensitivity into a coherent whole. It is the first such project in many years. It restores the faith which accompanied the birth of the Third Republic of Poland-that not only are we able to solve the most difficult problems, but we are ready to do so.

In 2003, Poles were in desperate need of a positive vision of the future, one based firmly on reality. Hausner not only presents this, but with his energy and determination, he awoke the hope that we really are capable of realizing this vision.

In the past years, the Chair of the Year went to: Lech Wałęsa, Leszek Balcerowicz, Jan Krzysztof Bielecki, Hanna Suchocka, the Warsaw Stock Exchange, Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz, the Supreme Court's Administrative Chamber of Labor and Social Security, the passenger car, Tadeusz Mazowiecki and Roman Kluska, Jerzy Buzek, Bronisław Geremek, Aleksander Kwaśniewski, Adam Małysz and Danuta Hübner.
© The Warsaw Voice 2010-2018
E-mail Marketing Powered by SARE